A Baseball Fan for Life

By: Sue Ann

I never thought I’d enjoy watching sports. Honestly, the only sport I watch on TV is tennis. I’ve got to say though, that baseball has really grown on me lately.

I used to wear the Yankees baseball cap because it’s the only one I have. Not because I like the team. But the Yankees are actually my favorite baseball team now.

You can ask me about any member on the Yankees team: their batting average, where they were transferred from, the number of home runs they’ve hit this season, etc. And I can tell you the answer. I guess you can say I’ve spent way too much of my free time watching all the Yankees games. It’s kind of hard not to when your boyfriend is a hardcore sports fan, haha.

I used to have a really hard time remembering all the names of players on the Yankees team because there are so many of them! But I’ve come up with my own naming system. I remember Didi as Didi’s Dumplings, one of the best dumpling places near Alex’s home. Did you know that Didi’s real name is Mariekson? Yea, sounds nothing like Didi. Gleyber, because it rhymes with the word “labor” as in Labor Day. Edwin Encarnacion is a hard one to forget because he has a parrot on his shoulder (no joke) every time he hits a home run. DJ, because he has the highest batting average on the team. Point is, it’s hard to forget their names. And I guess it’s safe to say I’ve traded in Shark Tank episodes for Yankees games.